Yoga, our friend or foe….

So I decided to go to a yoga class, to help me out with my marathon training. To kind of spice it up.  Boy, does it spice it up. My body hurts in places I didn’t know could hurt.

Don’t get me wrong, I love it. It’s just that it is so different. I have now gone to 3 classes, and my husband went with me to one. It was so funny watching him. He is not the most limber person or graceful as a matter of fact. We still had a lot of fun going together. But I think that he is going to stick to the weight room from now on.

So going to it, I thought, ok so this is going to be interesting. The picture in my head, had me thinking that yoga was just a lot of stretching. Man, was I wrong. By the first 15 minutes of the hour long class I was drenched in sweat. The music was calming, the breathing was incredible, and the instructor was also very relaxing.

I really enjoyed the pace, the instructor made sure that we were all comfortable and no matter what your skill level was you has something to do that was at your level. I never once felt like I did not belong there. Even the people who have been going awhile, were very helpful. Obviously, since I have been back twice since, I do plan on continuing with the class. I think that it is going to help me alot with the 1/2 marathon.

So all and all, Yoga is our friend. As long as, you don’t think about the pain and soreness, I believe you will be alright. The instructor kept telling me, just look at your goal and keep reaching. My goal at the time was just to make it through the class, which I did. So 1st goal accomplished. kuddos to me!!!!

Leave a Reply

